Skip to main content

Celebrating First-Generation Success: The Triumph of the Tri-Alpha Honor Society

by Francesca Gannon Apr 17, 2024
Tri Alpha 2024

On April 7, DeSales celebrated 26 first-generation success stories as it inaugurated the newest members into the Eta Chapter of the Tri-Alpha Honor Society. 

Established at Moravian University in 2018, Tri-Alpha recognizes the academic achievements of first-generation students who have attained a minimum GPA of 3.2 and completed at least 60 credits toward graduation.

The ceremony celebrated the individual successes of students and lauded the support of families and friends who have contributed to their academic journey. Michael Torres ’25, a computer science major, emphasized the sense of community fostered by the society. 

“It brings everyone together to celebrate and honor those who have worked very hard, and those who have come before us.”

 Michael Torres ’25, computer science major

Tri-Alpha aims to instill pride in students while also underscoring their responsibility to share their stories and serve as mentors to others. 

“I hope to inspire my younger siblings and other first-generation students,” said Paige Roof ’24, a medical studies major. “It doesn’t matter what your background is; there is always an opportunity to grow and make something of yourself in college.” 

During the ceremony, Father Kevin Nadolski, OSFS, vice president for mission, and Shalynda Morton, assistant director of multicultural life, were also inducted as honorary members of the society.

Congratulations to all of this year’s inductees:

  • Kasie Bloss ’24, early childhood education. 
  • Diane Cedeno ’26, medical studies.
  • Cooper Chiplonia ’24, biology. 
  • Mariela Dacheva ’24, biology. 
  • Kim DeCaro ’24, criminal justice.
  • Haley Flyte ’26, biochemistry. 
  • Trinity Hatcher ’25, accounting.
  • Bryce Haviland ’25, accounting.
  • Marissa Holguin ’24, biology. 
  • Jordyn Holjes ’24, medical studies.  
  • Hope Hoppe ’24, political science, criminal justice. 
  • Melissa Howard ’24, TV/film. 
  • Aidan Hubis ’25, criminal justice.
  • Erica Lazar ’24, medical studies.
  • Paris Lopez ’25, biology. 
  • Karli Mercurio ’25, nursing. 
  • Maci Pollitt ’25, nursing. 
  • Brianna Powell ’26, communication studies. 
  • Paige Roof ’24, medical studies.
  • Peyton Rydholm ’24, medical studies. 
  • Serena Scano ’24, nursing. 
  • Joshua Sites ’26, computer science.  
  • Sarah Talpas ’26, early childhood education. 
  • Michael Torres ’25, computer science.  
  • Amy Wood ’26, sport management. 
  • Gabriella Zecca ’24, psychology.