Skip to main content

Tri-Alpha Honor Society Inducts Newest Members

by Janelle Hill May 9, 2022

Eighteen first-generation students are being lauded for their academic achievements.  

The students were inducted into the Eta chapter of the Alpha Alpha Alpha, or Tri-Alpha, honor society—designed exclusively for first-gen students—during a ceremony in Connelly Chapel.

“As a first-generation student, I felt a sense of pride after being inducted into the Tri-Alpha honor society,” says Austin Mendel ’22, a history major. “I feel that I have laid the foundation for future generations in my family by overcoming my own self-doubt.”

Jeff Richter, director of campus environment, and Annmarie Houck, assistant professor and chair of the mathematics/computer science department, were also inducted as honorary members.

Moravian University established Alpha Alpha Alpha in 2018. To qualify for the Eta chapter, students must be first generation, have a minimum GPA of 3.2, and have completed 60 or more credits toward graduation. 

Congratulations to Mendel and all of this year’s inductees: Brian Bruno ’24, Jocelyn Drauch ’22, Michelle Guapisaca ’22, Jordyn Harris ’23, Briana Holodinski ’23, Tiffany Le ’24, Isaiah Marrero ’23, Catherine Miller ’22, Kelsey Lyn Miller ’22, Tuyen Pham ’23, Renee Reynolds ’22, Evan Ritter ’23, Thalia Santiago ’22, Mandy Scott ’22, Elisabeth Talpas ’24, Fiona Wilson ’24, and Brooke Woomer ’22.