Skip to main content

Visiting Artist

Art and beauty provide us with powerful reminders of God’s abiding and loving presence in the world. They also point us to Christian Humanism, which lies at the very heart of Salesian Spirituality. This series aims at educating, illuminating, and inspiring all those on the DeSales campus and the surrounding community with new insights into the Salesian heart and spirit, including: unity in our diversity; love and care for creation, and our connectedness to the cosmic heart of Christ. ​ Join our artist-in-residence, Bro. Mickey McGrath, OSFS, as we journey through the world of art, culture, beauty, and color. All events are FREE and open to the public! Some events require online registration.

Scheduled Events for Visiting Artist

  • Visiting Artist Events

    Join our visiting artist, Bro. Mickey McGrath, OSFS, for any/all of these events.
    ** Some require online registration due to space limitations but ALL events are free and open to the public.


    2019-20 events

    Dorothy Day Mural Painting - Wednesday - Friday, August 14-16, 2019 - painting with DSU students in the Dorothy Day Student Union. Come and watch!

    Retreat - Saturday, October 19 from 10 am -2 pm: Retreat (tentative)

    TBA - Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at 7 pm

    Feast Week Retreat - Saturday, January 25 from 10 am – 2 pm: Feast Week of SFdS

    Madonna’s of Color - Wednesday, February 5 at 7 pm: 

    Webinar - Tuesday, March 17 at 1 pm in the One Touch Studio. National Association of Liturgical Designers 

    TBA - Wednesday, April 1 at 7 pm – event (Trexler Room)

    Retreat - Saturday, May 2 from 10 am – 2 pm 


    Campus Map

    All events are free and open to the public.


     

    previous events

    SALESIAN RETREAT II  - Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 10 am - 2 pm
    DeSales University Center - Lunch will be provided. Registration is required

    SALESIAN PEACE - Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 7 pm
    DeSales University Center

    ANNECY ART - Wednesday, February 27, 2019 - 7 pm
    DeSales University Center

    DSUNIDIVERSITY - Monday, February 11, 2019 - 7 pm
    DeSales University Center

    SALESIAN RETREAT - Saturday, December 8, 2018 - 10 am - 3 pm
    Gambet Center Auditorium ... lunch provided!

    WHO WAS DOROTHY DAY - Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 7 pm
    DeSales University Center

    SILVER SAINTS - Wednesday, September 5, 2018 - 10 am - 12 pm
    DeSales University Center