Skip to main content

Recognizing Remarkable Students: Celebrating Leaders at the 2024 Student Life Awards Banquet

by Jesus Delgado ’24 Jun 14, 2024
Student Life Awards Banquet 2024

The 2024 Student Life Awards Banquet celebrated various student leaders who have shown exceptional wisdom, humility, gentleness, gratitude, and hospitality through their service to the University and local community. 

One student whose story exemplifies the essence of leadership is Morgan Landau ’24, an early childhood education major. Landau received the Parent Association Award for Outstanding Individual Service, the Troy Bauer Career Ambassador Award, and, due to her leadership in Relay for Life, the SGA Program of the Year Award.

Despite entering DeSales knowing no one, Landau was welcomed and mentored by her Character U mentor, her resident advisor, staff members, and the upperclassmen on the tennis team. 

This community of close friends and mentors would also be there to support her when her father passed away from cancer during her first year at DeSales. Given the impact of such a positive and welcoming environment, Landau set out to be a leader in everything she became involved with.

As a resident advisor, she ensured that all her residents were comfortable and always had someone to rely on. As a career ambassador, she sought to help students attain their career goals no matter where they stood in their professional journeys. As president of the Colleges Against Cancer club, she organized events and fundraisers that supported cancer research and treatment. 

“Eventually I realized that being a leader is who I am; I felt like I could truly be myself and be that well.”  

 Morgan Landau ’24

Landau will continue being a leader to others and her community through her vocation as an elementary school teacher and as a member of the board of advisors for the American Cancer Society of the Greater Lehigh Valley.

Congratulations to Landau and all of the recipients of the 2024 Student Life Awards. 

Margaret “Marge” Kender Student Life Trailblazer Award  
Recipient: Nidhi Kumar ’24  
Presented to a graduating senior who has demonstrated leadership throughout the student life department, provided new pathways for students to succeed, and displayed generosity to students through their actions. 

The John A. Hanley Spirit of DeSales Award 
Recipient: Jaimason Lacasse '24
This honor is awarded to an individual whose actions, positive attitude, and exemplary spiritual life have influenced DeSales University. 

Dr. Jerry Joyce Student Engagement and Leadership Award
Recipients: Paige Thompson ’24 and Brandon Rank ’24
Presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in student activities, engaged other students through clubs and organizations, and has dedicated himself/herself to enhancing the school spirit of DeSales University to his/her peers and the community.  

Dr. Gregg Amore First-Year Experience Award 
Recipients: NeLa-Sharrelle Latimore ’27 and Kate Dowling ’27  
Presented to a first-year student who has exemplified the Golden Council traits within his/her personal and academic life, has demonstrated these character traits throughout the campus community, and has exhibited these traits and strengths in a way that has inspired character growth in his/her peers.  

Parent Association Award for Outstanding Individual Service 
Recipient: Morgan Landau ’24  
This outstanding honor is awarded to the student who has portrayed a strong willingness to work within the community in an effort to strengthen and improve the lives of others. 

Rev. James Finnegan Community Service Award for Outstanding Individual Service  
Recipient: Amelia Stocker ’24  
Presented to an individual who gives of himself/herself for the betterment of his/her fellow students both on and off the DeSales University campus. 

Rev. James Finnegan Community Service Award for Organization Service 
Recipient: XTE Dance Honor Society  
Presented to a group that is committed to giving back to the community through time and acts of kindness. 

Troy Bauer Career Ambassador Award  
Recipient: Morgan Landau ’24  
Presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in advising his/her peers to explore, experience, and achieve their professional goals and follow their passions. Furthermore, this is presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond his/her scheduled duties to promote the Career Development Center and enhance his/her own career growth and development.   

Helen Danko and Jean Maurer Wellness Award 
Recipient: Lindsay Shoemaker ’24  
This honor is awarded annually to a student who has contributed to the overall wellness of the DeSales student body. 

George S. Salzmann SGA Award  
Recipient: Harkiran Bhullar ’24
Presented to an individual whose leadership through the Student Government Association has made outstanding contributions to the DeSales community. 

James F. Kilcur SGA Class Leadership Awards 
First Year: Janae Topor ’27  
Sophomore: Reece Stein ’26  
Junior: Connor McGill ’25                      
Senior: Jesus Delgado ’24  
This award is given to a first-year student, sophomore, junior, and senior who have exemplified outstanding leadership through academics, extracurricular activities, and who have served as positive role models for others during the academic year. 

SGA Program of the Year 
Recipients: College Against Cancer – Relay for Life & Asian Culture Club – Sushi Making Night  
This award is presented to an individual or group who has executed the most outstanding campus program to benefit the University. Outstanding programs include programs that contribute to the development of a diverse culture on campus and appeal to a varied audience. 

SGA Student Organization of the Year Award 
Recipient: Best Buddies  
This award is presented to a group that has benefited the community through its outstanding programs, leadership on campus, and dedication to the mission of DeSales University. 

SGA Sister John Marie Outstanding Staff Member of the Year
Recipient: Nick Luchko, associate dean of students for engagement and leadership  
This award is presented to a staff member who has shown outstanding service to the student body of DeSales University.

SGA Dr. Jeffrey Focht Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year 
Recipient: Sue McGorry, Ph.D., assistant provost for assessment, curriculum, and student success and professor of business  
This award is presented to a faculty member who has shown outstanding service to the student body of DeSales University. 

SGA Outstanding Support Staff  
Recipient: Diana Shellenberger, Sodexo  
The Outstanding Support Staff Member of the Year is presented to an individual who has shown extraordinary support and compassionate energy to all students and visitors of our University.