Skip to main content

Students, Faculty, and Staff Honored at Student Life Awards Ceremony

by Janelle Hill May 16, 2019

The student life department shined a spotlight on dozens of DeSales students during the Student Life Awards Ceremony. The annual event honors students for their service and leadership throughout the academic year. 

The following students, groups, faculty, and staff were recognized: 
David Talarico ’19 received The John A. Hanley Spirit of DeSales Award, which is awarded to a student whose actions, positive attitude, and exemplary spiritual life have influenced DeSales.

Brendan Graham ’19 took home the Dr. Jerry Joyce Student Engagement and Leadership Award, which is presented to a student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in student activities, engaged other students through clubs and organizations, and has dedicated himself to enhancing the school spirit of DeSales. 

Emma Jendrek ’22 accepted the Dr. Gregg Amore First Year Experience Award, which is given to a first-year student who has exemplified the Golden Council traits within her personal and academic life, demonstrated these character traits throughout the campus community, and exhibited them in a way that has inspired character growth in her peers. 

Rachael Hart ’19 received the Parent Association Award for Outstanding Individual Service, which is awarded to a student who has portrayed a strong willingness to work within the community in an effort to strengthen and improve the lives of others. 

Sarah Knop ’19 received the Rev. James Finnegan Community Service for Outstanding Individual Service Award, which is presented to a student who gives of herself for the betterment of her fellow students both on and off the DeSales campus. Knop was also just one of 50 students across the country to be awarded The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) State of Mind Award and to receive a $1,000 scholarship. The award is given to members who initiated a program or event or who were significant participants in a project or campaign that impacted their local community in a positive manner.  

The Student Nurses Association received the Rev. James Finnegan Community Service for Outstanding Organization Service Award, which is presented to a group that’s committed to giving back to the community through time and acts of kindness.

Emily Chambers ’19 took home the Troy Bauer Career Ambassador Award, which is given to a student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in advising her peers to explore, experience, and achieve their professional goals and follow their passions. 

Elizabeth Ruth ’19 received the Helen Danko and Jean Maurer Wellness Award, which is awarded to a student who has contributed to the overall wellness of the DeSales student body.

Christina Grochowski ’19 received the George S. Salzmann Student Government Association (SGA) Award, which is presented to a student whose leadership through the Student Government Association has made outstanding contributions to the DeSales community.

Matthew Walton ’22, Joseph Freemont ’21, Michael White ’20, and Katherine Ragsdale ’19 accepted the James F. Kilcur SGA Class Leadership Awards, which are given to a freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior who have exemplified outstanding leadership through academics and extracurricular activities, and who have served as positive role models for others. 

The Special Olympics was recognized as the SGA Program of the Year, which highlights an individual or group that has executed the most outstanding campus program to benefit the University. 

PACE was recognized as the SGA Student Organization of the Year, which highlights a group that has benefited the community through outstanding programs, leadership on campus, and dedication to the mission of DeSales.

Melanie Vallone, assistant director of employer and alumni relations, was honored as the SGA Outstanding Staff Member of the Year for her outstanding service to the student body.

Dr. Jennifer Moore, chair of the Division of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, was named the SGA Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year for her outstanding service to the student body.

In addition to the awards presentation, members of the SGA Executive Cabinet were inducted into their new roles. Sixty-four students were also inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS).