ESL Program Specialist Certification

With the approval of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of Education the University offers the ESL Program Specialist Certification.

The number of students in the United States, whose English proficiency is limited, has grown by 95% since 1991 according to the U.S. Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition. Teachers who hold the ESL Program Specialist Endorsement are consequently in great demand.

The program consists of five three-credit courses first:

  •   ED 515 Foundations of English Language Learners

  •   ES 535 Language and Literacy Acquisition of English Language Learners

  •   ES 540 Applied Linguistics for Language Learning 

  •   ES 536 EL Assessment, Data and Instruction Modification

  •   ES 538 Instructional Practices for EL Classrooms

Then choose one of the following:

       ES 5530 Clinical  Instructional Practices for EL Classrooms (1cr)
       ES 554   Clinical Practicum in English Language Teaching (3cr)  

   * Any exceptions must be approved in writing by the Program Coordinator 


Classes starting soon!

Come to an info session

About Online Programs

DeSales University is dedicated to holding the quality of all courses to the highest standards. We strive to present instruction in a way that is unique to the online environment.